World Indoor Champion Pozzi confirmed for Glasgow

| |

Andy Pozzi after winning the 2018 British Championships. Photo: MV4R Photography

World indoor and defending European indoor 60m hurdles champion Andrew Pozzi (club: Stratford-upon-Avon; coach: Santiago Antunez) has had his participation at this week’s European Indoor Championships on home soil in Glasgow confirmed.

Pozzi was selected onto the British team for the Championships but having been unable to compete at the SPAR British Athletics Indoor Championships and not originally expecting to regain fitness in time for Glasgow, it was subject to him proving his fitness in the build up.

The 26-year-old competed over two rounds at the IAAF World Indoor Tour final in Dusseldorf on Wednesday, finishing fifth, and wishing to compete and defend the European indoor title he won in Belgrade in 2017, he has had his fitness confirmed for Glasgow.

Pozzi was one of the stars of the IAAF World Indoor Championships in Birmingham this time last year, winning gold in a thrilling final, and is one of six selected onto the British team to have claimed gold at the European Indoor Championships previously.

Andrew Pozzi said: “I thoroughly enjoyed competing again in Dusseldorf last week. It’s been a few days since then and I’m delighted to say that my body has recovered well. To be able to defend my European indoor title is an exciting opportunity and it’s great that we have all decided to go ahead and move on to Glasgow. World indoors last year in Birmingham was so special and now I’m excited to concentrate on what needs to be done in Glasgow in front of another brilliant home crowd.”

The British team selected for the European Indoor Championships Glasgow 2019:



Ojie Edoburun (Shaftesbury Barnet; Steve Fudge)

Richard Kilty (Middlesbrough Mandale; Benke Blomkvist)


Cameron Chalmers (Guernsey; James Hillier)

Alex Haydock-Wilson (Windsor Slough Eton & Hounslow; Michael Baker)

Owen Smith (Cardiff; Matt Elias)


Guy Learmonth (Lasswade; Henry Gray)

Joe Reid (Cardiff; Matt Elias)

Jamie Webb (Liverpool; Adrian Webb)


Robbie Fitzgibbon (Brighton; Jon Bigg)

Elliot Giles (Birchfield Harriers; Jon Bigg)

Neil Gourley (Giffnock North; Mark Rowland)


Sam Atkin (Lincoln Wellington; Rob Lewis)

Andrew Butchart (Central; Terrence Mahon)

Chris O’Hare (Edinburgh; Terrence Mahon)


David King (City of Plymouth; James Hillier)

Andrew Pozzi (Stratford-upon-Avon; Santiago Antunez)

High Jump

Chris Baker (Sale Harriers; Graham Ravenscroft)

Long Jump

Feron Sayers (Birchfield Harriers; Aston Moore)

Triple Jump

Nathan Douglas (Oxford City; Aston Moore)

Julian Reid (Sale Harriers; Aston Moore)

4x400m Relay

Joe Brier (Swansea; Matt Elias)

Cameron Chalmers (Guernsey; James Hillier)

Alex Haydock-Wilson (Windsor Slough Eton & Hounslow; Michael Baker)

Owen Smith (Cardiff; Matt Elias)

Thomas Somers (Newham & Essex Beagles; Benke Blomkvist)


Tim Duckworth (Liverpool; Toby Stevenson)



Kristal Awuah (Herne Hill; Matthew Thomas)

Rachel Miller (Thames Valley; Linford Christie)

Asha Philip (Newham & Essex Beagles; Steve Fudge)


Amber Anning (Brighton & Hove; Lloyd Cowan)

Zoey Clark (Thames Valley; Eddie McKenna)

Eilidh Doyle (Pitreavie; Brian Doyle)


Shelayna Oskan-Clarke (Windsor, Slough, Eton & Hounslow; Jon Bigg)

Mari Smith (Birchfield Harriers; Bud Baldaro)

Adelle Tracey (Guildford & Godalming; Craig Winrow)


Sarah McDonald (Birchfield Harriers; David Harmer)

Laura Muir (Dundee Hawkhill; Andy Young)

Jemma Reekie (Kilbarchan; Andy Young)


Melissa Courtney (Poole; Rob Denmark)

Eilish McColgan (Dundee Hawkhill; Liz Nuttall)

Laura Muir (Dundee Hawkhill; Andy Young)

High Jump

Morgan Lake (Windsor, Slough, Eton & Hounslow; Fuzz Caan)

Pole Vault

Holly Bradshaw (Blackburn; Scott Simpson)

Long Jump

Abigail Irozuru (Sale Harriers; Tom Cullen)

Jazmin Sawyers (City of Stoke; Lance Brauman)

Jahisha Thomas (Blackheath & Bromley; John Shepherd)

Triple Jump

Naomi Ogbeta (Trafford; Tom Cullen)

Shot Put

Sophie McKinna (Great Yarmouth; Mike Winch)

Amelia Strickler (Thames Valley; Zane Duquemin)

4x400m Relay

Amber Anning (Brighton & Hove; Lloyd Cowan)

Zoe Clark (Thames Valley; Eddie McKenna)

Eilidh Doyle (Pitreavie; Brian Doyle)

Phillipa Lowe (Dacorum & Tring; Deborah Keenleyside)

Laviai Nielsen (Enfield & Haringey; Christine Bowmaker)


Niamh Emerson (Amber Valley & Erewash; David Feeney)

Katarina Johnson-Thompson (Liverpool; Bertrand Valcin)


Written by

First published on: 25 February, 2019 4:21 pm