Weir Headlines British Team For Ipc Athletics Marathon World Cup

| |

Six-time Paralympic champion David Weir (coach: Jenny Archer) will lead the British Athletics team at the IPC Athletics Marathon World Cup held at the Virgin Money London Marathon on Sunday 24 April.

Weir, who returned to the track to bag silver over 1500m at the IPC Athletics World Championships in Doha last November, will take part in the race which has provided many special memories for the Londoner during his career. After matching Baroness Tanni Grey-Thompson’s record of six wins in 2012, Weir will be determined to go one better than his second place finish in 2015.

Joining Weir in the T53/T54 classification is John Smith (Archer) and Simon Lawson (Ian Thompson). Smith started 2016 with a marathon personal best and victory in Dubai and will be targeting further improvements to his 1:35.56 clocking last month on his maiden appearance in a British vest. Meanwhile, Lawson will also have his sights set on building on his 10th place finish in 2015, while Rob Smith (Job King) will head to the startline in the T52 class.

Derek Rae (Ron Morrison), who was fifth at the 2015 IPC Athletics World Championships T46 marathon will be looking to replicate his personal best performance of 2:40.40 as he returns to the capital in April.

Two-time Virgin Money London Marathon winner Shelly Woods (Archer) goes in the T54 women’s race alongside compatriot Jade Jones (Ian Thompson/Tanni Grey-Thompson). The latter is returning from injury which cut short her 2015 season. However, after posting a time of 26:53 at the Gran Canaria 10km, she is returning to form just at the right time with Rio fast approaching.

Paralympic Head Coach Paula Dunn said: “This will be great preparation for our athletes ahead of the IPC Athletics European Championships in June and the Paralympic Games in Rio just a few months later.

“2016 is a huge year for the sport and we will be looking to get off to a strong start at the IPC Athletics Marathon World Cup in London.”


British Athletics team for the IPC Athletics Marathon World Cup in London on Sunday 24 April:



Simon Lawson (Ian Thompson) – T53/54

Derek Rae (Ron Morrison) – T46

John Smith (Jenny Archer) – T53/T54

Rob Smith (Job King) – T52

David Weir (Jenny Archer) – T53/T54



Jade Jones (Ian Thompson/Tanni Grey-Thompson) – T53/T54

Shelly Woods (Jenny Archer) – T53/T54