scottishathletics announce hill running squad

| |

Fife brothers Tristan and George Rees will represent Scotland at hill running later this month with teams named for the Junior Home International in Betws-y-Coed in North Wales on Saturday 19 September.

The Rees boys, based in Crail and members of Fife AC, are in the same U17 team and follow in the footsteps of their elder brother Logan and sister Halina in competing in this event.

And it is a family affair, too, for Ross Gollan of Highland Hill Runners and Mairi Wallace of Moorfoot Runners in the Borders. They may live at opposite ends of the country but are in fact cousins!
Scottishathletics have named the teams at U17 and U20 level for the annual battle with England, Wales and Ireland following closely-fought trial races at Aberfoyle last week.

While 16 athletes in total have been selected, there are four who will earn their first Scotland vest – namely Wallace (U17G), Finlay Todd (U17B), Rhiannon Kirk (U20G) and Lucas Cheskin (U20B).

Age group categories for the competition are U17 and U20, male and female. Team members are listed below with a number of the athletes having raced in Bulgaria earlier this year at the international Youth Cup for 16 and 17-year-olds.

There is added excitement for the juniors and a greater buzz about the event because this year it is being held on the same day and over the same course as the World Mountain Running Championships. Jacob Adkin, Andy Douglas and Robbie Simpson are the three Scots in GB teams for this.

Malcolm Patterson, scottishathletics National Coach Mentor (Hill Running), and one of four selectors, said: ‘We were delighted with the quality of competition at the Trial race and this is reflected in the strong teams that will race in the Junior Home International. I congratulate all the junior athletes who made the teams, plus their coaches and supporters, and wish them every success in Wales.’

Scotland Teams:

U17 Girls: Emily Nicholson (Pitreavie AAC); Laura Stark, Rona Tytler (Kilbarchan AAC), Mairi Wallace(Moorfoot Runners)

U17 Boys: Freddie Carcas (Edinburgh AC), George Rees, Tristan Rees (Fife AC) Finlay Todd (Ross County AC)

U20 Girls: Annabel Simpson, Ailsa Cruickshanks (Fife AC), Rhiannon Kirk (Caithness AAC), Lucy McLeod (Aberdeen AAC)

U20 Boys: Gavin Bryson (Edinburgh AC), Lucas Cheskin (Moorfoot Runners), Ross Gollan (East Sutherland AC), Thomas Otton (Gala Harriers)

*Meanwhile, the trials race concluded the scottishathletics Junior Hill League and the overall title winners were as follows:

U15G Nuala McCheyne (Inverclyde AC); U17G Laura Stark (Kilbarchan);U20G Rhiannon Kirk (Caithness AC);U15B Robert Sparks (Fife AC); U17B Tristan Rees (Fife AC); U20B Thomas Otton (Gala Harriers).