Philip To Captain British Athletics Team At World Indoor Championships

| |

Sprinter Asha Philip (coach: Steve Fudge) has today been announced as captain of the British Athletics team for the IAAF World Indoor Championships in Portland, USA.

The 25-year-old from East London was selected by British Athletics Performance Director Neil Black and will lead a 23-strong team at the Oregon Convention Centre on 17-20 March.

Philip, who made history as the first British woman to win a global 100m title when she was crowned world youth champion in 2007, said: “I love representing my country and it’s something that never gets old, so to have been selected to be captain of the British Athletics team at the World Indoor Championships is unreal and a massive honour.”

“This seems like this might be my year to finally shine. Everything has been going really well so far in 2016, so I hope to come to here (to Portland) and execute my race and perform to the levels I know I can. It would be the perfect way to head into the outdoor season in an Olympic year.” added Philip.

“Anyone who has followed athletics and Asha will know the passion and enthusiasm she displays when it comes to representing her country” said British Athletics Performance Director Neil Black. “But what many may not know is that for the last year or so Asha has been training in an all-male sprinting group in Loughborough and has proven herself to be one of the leaders in that group, displaying a range of leadership skills we hadn’t seen before.

“Asha has a big personality, but it is the steel, focus and drive behind the outward confidence which I want her to bring to the captaincy and that I am sure will inspire the rest of the team. I am delighted she has accepted this role.”

British Athletics team for the IAAF World Indoor Championships:

James Dasaolu (Steve Fudge)
Andrew Robertson (Dan Cossins)

Charlie Grice (Jon Bigg)
Chris O’Hare (Terrence Mahon)

Lee Emanuel (Joe Franklin)
Tom Farrell (Mark Rowland)

Lawrence Clarke (Samba-Koundy Giscard)

High Jump:
Chris Baker (Sharon Heveran)
Robbie Grabarz (Fuzz Caan)

Long Jump:
Dan Bramble (Frank Attoh)

Dina Asher-Smith (John Blackie)
Asha Philip (Steve Fudge)

Lynsey Sharp (Rana Reider)
Adelle Tracey (Craig Winrow)

Josephine Moultrie (William Parker)
Steph Twell (Mick Woods)

Tiffany Porter (Rana Reider)
Serita Solomon (Michelle Bovell)

High Jump:
Isobel Pooley (Fuzz Caan)

Long Jump:
Shara Proctor (Rana Reider)

Jazmin Sawyers (Alan Lerwill)
Lorraine Ugen (Shawn Jackson)

Morgan Lake (Eldon Lake)


Written by

First published on: 14 March, 2016 12:00 am