Catch up on highlights from the U20 & U23 Championships

| | ,

If you didn’t catch all of the England Athletics Under 20 and Under 23 Championships in Bedford this weekend, on-demand footage is available for you to watch back here as many times as you like.

Eight athletes secured places at the IAAF World Junior Championships in Finland on two brilliant days of action.

One of them is Jona Efoloko, who had a great tussle with Charlie Dobson in the under-20 men’s 200m (below). The European Junior silver medalist winning in a time of 20.79 to book his place in Tampere.


A thrilling under-20 men’s 400m final saw Ben Pattison grab victory in the last 20 metres of the race (below). Ben was a tenth off the 47.11 personal best he managed at last month’s Loughborough International.


In the field, 16-year-old Dominic Ogbechie took the under-20 title. The world under-18 number one jumped 2.16m (below). It was a strong follow-up on the world age best of 2.22 which he managed at the indoor equivalent of this event in February.

Meanwhile, British triple jump champion Naomi Ogbeta impressed with her consistency, managing to jump 13.58m twice to secure the under-23 title, with second-placed Eavion Richardson coming back from recent injury to jump a massive 13.04 lifetime best by more than half a metre.

Another senior national champion, Shannon Hylton produced an excellent under-23 sprint double, starting off by taking Saturday’s 100m title (below) in 11.43s.

Elsewhere, in the under-23 women’s sprint hurdles, Jess Hunter took the scalp of London 2017 athlete Alicia Barrett and British indoor champion Megan Marrs, narrowly beating the pair in a new best of 13.33.

Moving up to 800m, Keely Hodgkinson, still an under-17 athete, timed her run well to beat the likes of European Youth Champion Isabelle Boffey, European Junior Champion Khahisa Mhlanga, and Katy-Ann McDonald.

Over 3000m, an exciting, yet also heartbreaking conclusion to the under-20 men’s final, as you’ll find out below.


Written by

First published on: 19 June, 2018 12:00 am