British Athletics confirm two team changes for IAAF World Relays

| | ,

Sam Gordon (Wales) and James Williams (Liverpool Harriers) at the 2018 Manchester International. Photo: MV4R Photography

British Athletics have today confirmed two changes to the British team selected to compete at the IAAF World Relays in Yokohama, Japan from May 11-12.

Matthew Hudson-Smith (club: Birchfield Harriers; coach: Lance Brauman), who claimed the European 400m title last summer and helped the British 4x400m relay team to silver, has withdrawn after sustaining a calf injury.

Hudson-Smith will be replaced by Alex Haydock-Wilson (Windsor Slough Eton & Hounslow; Michael Baker) following a fine indoor season that saw the 19-year-old make his senior international British debut at the European Indoor Championships in Glasgow last month.

In addition, European 100m silver medallist and British champion Reece Prescod (Enfield & Haringey; Jonas Dodoo) has chosen to withdraw himself from the men’s 4x100m team as his individual plans leading up to the IAAF World Relays limit the amount of time he will be able to practice the vital skills needed to compete successfully in Yokohama.

Prescod will be replaced in the team by Sam Gordon (Cardiff; Matt Elias), who represented the British team in the men’s 4x100m relay at the Athletics World Cup last summer.

The British team selected for the IAAF World Relays Yokohama 2019:



Harry Aikines-Aryeetey (Sutton & District; Benke Blomkvist)

Adam Gemili (Blackheath & Bromley; Rana Reider)

Sam Gordon (Cardiff; Matt Elias)

Richard Kilty (Middlesbrough Mandale; Benke Blomkvist)

Nethaneel Mitchell-Blake (Newham & Essex Beagles; Lance Brauman)

CJ Ujah (Enfield & Haringey; Jonas Dodoo)


Cameron Chalmers (Guernsey; James Hillier)

Dwayne Cowan (Hercules Wimbledon; Lloyd Cowan)

Alex Haydock-Wilson (Windsor Slough Eton & Hounslow; Michael Baker)

Martyn Rooney (Croydon)

Jamal Rhoden-Stevens (Shaftesbury Barnet; Donovan Reid)

Owen Smith (Cardiff; Matt Elias)

Rabah Yousif (Newham & Essex Beagles; Carol Williams)



Kristal Awuah (Herne Hill; Matthew Thomas)

Desiree Henry (Enfield & Haringey; Lance Brauman)

Daryll Neita (Shaftesbury Barnet; Jonas Dodoo)

Ashleigh Nelson (City of Stoke; Michael Afilaka)

Asha Philip (Newham & Essex Beagles; Steve Fudge)

Bianca Williams (Enfield & Haringey; Lloyd Cowan)


Finette Agyapong (Newham & Essex Beagles; Coral Nourrice)

Amy Allcock (Aldershot Farnham & District; Glyn Hawkes)

Zoey Clark (Thames Valley; Eddie McKenna)

Emily Diamond (Bristol & West; Benke Blomkvist)

Eilidh Doyle (Pitreavie; Brian Doyle)

Laviai Nielsen (Enfield & Haringey; Christine Bowmaker)

Anyika Onuora (Liverpool; Benke Blomkvist)


Written by

First published on: 22 April, 2019 3:31 pm