Become a part of the AAA tradition

| |

The England Athletics Senior Championships will this year carry the AAA name as the event which is also the UK CAU championships come to Bedford on 1 & 2 August. Athletes competing will put their names alongside a great line of famous athletes who have contested the AAA championships over the years.

Many of our greatest athletes have claimed AAA titles in their careers. The UK CAU & England Athletics Senior AAA Championships will include the presentation of AAA trophies bearing their names.

In addition the England Athletics Senior Disability Championships will also take place at the event. To get an indication of the heritage of the AAA championships take a look at just a few of the home countries athletes who have won titles at the event below.

Bedford will also host the England Athletics U17 and U15 Individiual championships on 29th and 30th August, and our Combined Events Championships on the 8th and 9th August.

The England Athletics Clubs Under 20 and Under 17 Relay Championships will be held on Saturday 8th August. Clubs are invited to apply for the chance to secure national titles over 4x100m and 4×400/300m.

1st-2nd August at Bedford:

UK CAU & England Athletics Senior AAA Championships

8th-9th August at Bedford:

England Athletics U17 & U15 Combined Events Championships
England Athletics Relay Championships

29th-30th August at Bedford:

England Athletics U17 & U15 Championships

You can find out more and links to online and paper entry on our championships web page at

Past home countries winners of the AAA (& WAAA) titles


Sprints: Linford Christie, Darren Campbell, John Regis, McDonald Bailey, Eric Liddell, Harold Abrahams, Roger Black, Todd Bennett, Douglas Lowe

Middle distance: Steve Ovett, Sebastian Coe, Steve Cram, Peter Elliott, Sydney Wooderson, Roger Bannister, Tom Hampson, Douglas Lowe, Walter George

Long distance: Dave Bedford, Brendan Foster, Eamonn Martin, Jack Buckner, Julian Goater, Nick Rose, Charlie Spedding, Mark Rowland, Ron Hill, Chris Chataway, Derek Ibbotson, Jim Peters, Gordon Pirie, Jack Holden, Alf Shrubb, Walter George

Hurdles: Colin Jackson, Tony Jarrett, David Hemery, Kris Akabusi, Lord Burghley

Jumps: Steve Smith, Dalton Grant, Lynn Davies, Greg Rutherford, Jonathan Edwards, Daley Thompson, Phillips Idowu, Brian Hooper, Harold Abrahams

Throws: Geoff Capes, Bill Tancred, Steve Backley

Walks: Ken Matthews


Sprints: Katharine Merry, Dorothy Hyman, Kathy Cook, Ann Packer, Lillian Board

Middle distance: Kelly Holmes, Yvonne Murray, Zola Budd, Diane Leather, Christine Boxer, Christine Benning

Long distance: Wendy Sly, Yvonne Murray, Paula Radcliffe, Zola Budd

Hurdles: Sally Gunnell, Shirley Strong, Mary Peters, Jean Desforges (Pickering),

Jumps: Mary Rand, Denise Lewis, Kelly Sotherton, Ashia Hansen, Dorothy Tyler, Sheila Lerwill, Jean Desforges (Pickering), Ann Packer

Throws: Tessa Sanderson, Fatima Whitbread, Goldie Sayers, Judy Oakes, Lorraine Shaw, Mary Peters