14-Strong Team Selected For Combined Events International Indoor Match

| |

British Athletics has today announced the 14-strong team for the Combined Events International Indoor Match in Prague, Czech Republic on January 28 – 29.

Britain’s leading decathlete Ashley Bryant (coach: Aston Moore) heads up a strong senior men’s team and is joined by Liam Ramsay (Mike Corden), with the latter selected on the back of posting the fourth highest indoor heptathlon score ever by a UK athlete at last weekend’s England Athletics Indoor Combined Events Championships in Sheffield.

Britain’s indoor heptathlon record holder John Lane (Toni Minichiello) and Aiden Davies (Sam Stanislaus), serving as the U23 representative in the senior team, will join the pair as the British team face off against teams from the Czech Republic, Poland, France and Spain.

Fresh from winning the England indoor pentathlon title on the weekend, 2014’s Commonwealth Games heptathlon bronze medallist Jessica Taylor-Jemmett (Mike Holmes) spearheads the senior women’s team. Company to Taylor-Jemmett comes from Katie Stainton (Kelly Sotherton), Elise Lovell (Stephen King) and U23 representative Danielle McGifford (Sharon-Louise Walls).

The men’s U20 team features Joseph Hobson (Mike Corden), with the Sheffield & Dearne athlete victorious in his home city on the weekend ahead of Howard Bell (Ian McEwan), Scotland’s national U20 decathlon champion, and Dylan Carlsson (Ian Grant), both of whom will join Hobson on the team for the team match in Prague.

Each of the three podium placers from the women’s U20 competition in Sheffield are also present on the team, with rostrum topper Holly McArthur (Ian McEwan) joined by Grace Bower (Holmes) and Ada’ora Chigbo (Fuzz Caan).


The British Athletics team for the Combined Events International Indoor Match in Prague, Czech Republic – 28-29 January 2017:

Senior Men

Ashley Bryant (Aston Moore)

John Lane (Toni Minichiello)

Liam Ramsay (Mike Corden)


U23 Men

Aiden Davies (Sam Stanislaus)

U20 Men

Howard Bell (Ian McEwan)

Dylan Carlsson Smith (Ian Grant)

Joseph Hobson (Mike Corden)


Senior Women

Elise Lovell (Stephen King)

Katie Stainton (Kelly Sotherton)

Jessica Taylor-Jemmett (Mike Holmes)


U23 Women

Danielle McGifford (Sharon-Louise Walls)

U20 Women

Grace Bower (Mike Holmes)

Ada’ora Chigbo (Fuzz Caan)

Holly McArthur (Ian McEwan)


Written by

First published on: 10 January, 2017 12:00 am